New Shoes

It’s the first day of school, how could I not write a philosophical post?😂 

(I know, I know, you’re really just here for the tiny house pictures. I’m working in it!)

Maelyn got new shoes for the new school year. She is in love with these shoes! They are, and I quote, “The best shoes ever!” She had to wear them on the first day of school. 

K

What makes them so cool you ask? They have teeny tiny little pockets in the side, they are Kangaroo sneakers. If you’re familiar with that brand, you know that these are Payless Shoes. When I got them for her I told myself that there’s no sense in spending big bucks on kids shoes, they out grow them so quickly, they could be play shoes. I was embarrassed that my daughter would be wearing Payless Shoes on the first day of school! But then, the pure awesomeness that is my Maelyn, set me straight! This child, who has no concept of money, name brands, or feelings of inadequacy, just really thought these little pocket shoes were the greatest, and why shouldn’t she? They are everything a 5 year old could want. Who cares that I got them on clearance for $8. 

Let’s face it, Mark and I are public school teachers in Oklahoma, everyone knows how much money we don’t make! There is no reason to act, no reason to fake. We are teachers by choice. With almost 4 1/2 degrees between the two of us, we could find better paying jobs, we could find more respected jobs, but that’s not why we (Mark and I) were put on this earth. 

I have sworn that I will do better with my children, I will not let my insecurities affect them. But man, it’s hard! How can I expect my children to have solid self-worth and self-esteem if I belittle myself in front of them? How can I expect my children to be kind to others if I talk or act unkindly to Mark in front of them? How can I expect my children to be inclusive to everyone, not feel the need to be like everyone else, if I act embarrassed over Payless shoes? 

I have to practice what I preach, or in the education world, I have to model expectations. So tonight, when Maelyn said, “I bet my friends will be so impressed with my Kangaroo shoes,” I didn’t cringe at the thought of my daughter pointing out her cheap Payless shoes, I didn’t discourage her from telling her friends about her shoes because someone may make fun of her for having Payless shoes, I simply said, “Those are really cool shoes, I’m so glad you think they are so cool.”

Mars also loves his clearance Payless shoes! “Shoes” is one of the few words he says, and he picks out his everyday. He wasn’t too thrilled about his First Day picture though…

G-pa’s not too thrilled either!

And if kids do ever make fun of my children, I will teach them how to respond to mean kids. I will hope that before that time comes I have mastered the positivity thing, and teach them  to respond with kindness and grace. If not… Mark and I are pretty much experts in sarcasm, snark, salt, and inappropriate words! 

Leave a Reply

